How do I reset my iPhone?

When needed, various settings or the iPhone itself can be reset to resolve issues.

Soft reset with hardware keys
A soft reset is a simulated battery removal to power a device off when it is frozen if it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

iPhone 12, iPhone 11, iPhone Xs, iPhone X, iPhone 8, or iPhone 8 Plus
1. Press and quickly release the Volume Up button
2. Press and quickly release the Volume Down button
3. Press and hold the Side button until you see the Apple logo

iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus
1. Press and hold the Side and Volume Down buttons simultaneously for at least 10 seconds
2. When you see the Apple logo, release the buttons

iPhone 6s and earlier or iPad
1. Press and hold the Home and the Top or Side buttons simultaneously for at least 10 seconds
2. When you see the Apple logo, release the buttons

 

Reset network settings
Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out-of-the-box factory defaults.

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.
1. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Reset
2. Tap Reset Network Settings
3. Type in the device password if prompted
4. Confirm selection

 

Master reset from the settings menu
A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

1. Back up all data on the internal memory
2. If Apple FMiP Activation Lock is enabled, you will need access to the Internet to complete these steps
3. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Reset
4. Tap desired option:
    • Reset All Settings - Use this option before attempting a master reset
    • Erase All Content and Settings - Use this option for master reset. Select Erase all & keep plans
    • Reset Network Settings - This will delete any saved Wi-Fi profiles
    • Reset Keyboard Dictionary
    • Reset Home Screen Layout
    • Reset Location & Privacy
5. Type in the device password if prompted
6. Confirm selection


Master reset with hardware keys
A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, there is no master reset using device buttons. You must use Apple iTunes to force a software restore.



Was this article helpful?